Why Listen When E Talks?

Well, I have just added another blogging site to my name. I wonder how many I have now. There are at least five that I can think of as I am writing this and are at least fairly current. I really do love blogging. It has proven to be therapeutic for me. Thinking out loud and letting others affirm whatever is on my heart has been beautiful over the years!

I’ll share a little about myself since it is my first post.

My name is Elise and I go by “e.” For me, using the lowercase instead of the capital, shows how informal I like to be. The dream is to one day attain my doctoral degree and even then, I’ll still just want to be known simply as e. (It’s capitalized in the title because it’s in the title).

Speaking of degrees, I just received my masters in Student Affairs in Higher Education at Slippery Rock University. That was a powerful two years for me. I learned a lot about myself and a few very important life lessons. What was the most important you ask? You have to accept people for who they are and where they are in their lives. Our opinions, thoughts and beliefs stem from the experiences life has presented us. If I disagree with you or vice versa, having a conversation and arriving at some type of conclusion is where my happiness lies. I love those types of conversations because, what are we doing? We are learning from one another. Imagine if we could once and for all blur the racial lines in this country? What could we not do? Trayvon Martin type stories would be non-existent. I think of it often and wish it was something that could happen soon, but it seems so farfetched. To steal some words from a famous musician, they say I am a dreamer, but I guarantee you I am not the only one.

I love Twitter. It is where people my age, both younger and older, are sharing those thoughts and beliefs I was referring to earlier on a very public platform. It’s true we all watch TV together like Breaking Bad, Scandal, and Catfish. However, a lot of folks do not mind sharing intimate details about their personal lives and I am not sure if they realize that that is powerful. I admire, am envious and disappointed about some of the things that are quite prevalent about our culture. The biggest one is attention.

  1. Attention: People want, need and crave it. No matter what it takes, folks are going to get that attention–most of the time it is not positive attention either. For example, a girl tweeted saying she got new glasses along with a twitpic. I click on the picture and (you know where this is going) yeah, I saw more than glasses frames. WHY are you showing all of God’s creation your goods? The picture was supposed to be about the glasses.**
  • **Let me just say this. The “thirst is real” because women are CONSTANTLY take pictures like the one mentioned above. Girls take pictures like that so the guys will slobber, hoot and holler. Then, have the nerve to act innocent about everything. Oh please. Honey, that is what you were asking for and you got it. I am about to write a blog entitled: “Why the thirst is real and not going away anytime soon.”

With that said, culture is one of my favorite things to blog about, so that is what you will mostly see from me on here. Whether it is Russell Simmons thinking a Harriet Tubman parody sex-tape would be a good idea to Kendrick Lamar’s killer verse on Control, I like to discuss it all. I am determined to be above the status quo in this life God has given me. My passion is just to talk to folks and maybe in the midst of the conversation help one another to think a little differently about something.

Last but not least, I always end my blog with a quote. This quote really spoke to me: “The real you, the very core of you-is untouchable, unstoppable and unlimited…and if you give yourself permission to allow even the smallest ray of your inner light to glisten unimpeded, you would illuminate this world far greater than any sunrise ever could.” –Cheryl Lee Harnish

Leave a Reply

