Thanks to 2013

Overall, 2013 was absolutely amazing, but it did have some “shaking my head” points. I wanted to share the five things I’m taking from the year. 

  1. Life sure ain’t always easy, but it’s amazing! One of the things I think our society has gotten better at because of Instagram, is not taking everyday things like morning sunrises and moonlight nights, for granted anymore.  People are beginning to see that the ordinary is actually extraordinary and taking time to capture those unforgettable moments.  Who would have thought a piece of technology would make us appreciate our breathtaking surroundings? 
  2. With a few deaths that hit close to home this year, from my grandfather’s to Trayvon Martin’s, life is precious.  People say ‘carpe diem’ and “life is a gift,” but do they really live that way? Some days I do and some I don’t. It’s time to really begin ceasing the days I have and making the most out of life. 
  3. My skin color will always be seen in so many eyes as less than, a threat, and even worthless.  In many ways, remnants of the mindsets of those in the 50s and 60s still exists.  It’s both alarming and disappointing. This is what drives me to be educated.  Although being educated doesn’t necessarily make me safe from ignorance, it does give me the opportunity to help with whom I come into contact.  I may not be able to change the world, but if I can reach just one person, then that’s something. 
  4. The importance of loving myself. Songs like Roar by Katy Perry and (not enough people listen to) India.Arie’s song Life I Know, really struck a chord with me.  If I learn to love Elise’s weaknesses, flaws, and downfalls, then I won’t be so susceptible to doing things that I’ll regret later.  Mistakes are bound to be made, but when you make it a second time, that’s a choice.
  5. Don’t go rewinding scenes that don’t deserve a second viewing.  Being the empathetic person that I am, my feelings often get tangled up in situations that don’t end up working in my favor.  It’s important to acknowledge that about myself.

No New Years resolutions for this girl. I just like to take time to recognize what I have improved on over the past year and what needs to be worked on in the year to come.  Always take time to reflect about what’s most important to you, set short-term and long-term attainable goals, work to achieve them and watch yourself become a happier you. 

Leave a Reply

